Azerbaijan is a democratic, constitutional, secular and united republic.

The country has a long history, rich natural resources as well as an amazing flora and fauna; It is located on the western shore of the Caspian Sea, in the eastern part of the South Caucasus.The Republic of Azerbaijan is 44 to 52 degrees east longitude and 38 to 42 degrees north latitude. Baku is located on the 40th latitude.

Azerbaijan is located on the western shore of the Caspian Sea at the southeast extremity of the Caucasus. The region
is a mountainous country, and only about 7% of it is arable land. The Kura River Valley is the area’s major agricultural zone.

Baku is the capital of the republic, the largest cities are Sumgait, Ganja, Nakhchivan, Sheki, Gabala, Lenkaran, Zagatala, Guba, Mingechaur, Khachmaz and Shamakhi.

Total–86,600 km2 (33,400 sq mi)
Water –1.6%

9,754,830 (2016)

Ethnic groups: Azeri 91.6%, Lezgian 2%, Russian 1.3%, Armenian 1.3%, Talysh 1.3%, Other 2.4%.